Tory’s Tour

Tory takes us around L.A. for a tour of “Scientology’s Forgotten Buildings.”

Explore posts in the same categories: Anonymous, News

20 Comments on “Tory’s Tour”

  1. moot Says:

    Very Ryugyong Hotel-ish.

  2. dangonzales Says:

    Nothing interesting happened in the first two minutes so I stopped watching.

  3. Danny Boy Says:

    I got car-sick from the camera shake!

  4. Rabidtreeweasel Says:

    I love Tory, but yikes, that was painful. I couldn’t keep watching past the first ten.

  5. Dissenting Voice Says:

    When your attention span is no longer than the average commercial break or YouTube video, that may be a cause for concern.

  6. BRanon Says:

    Wow, this is really touching, it really puts her history in perspective.

  7. Me Says:

    Oi Dissenting!

    It’s not a question of the attention span – it’s a question of information densitiy and being a waste of time.

    If you have found something worth watching tell me at what minutes and I’ll go for it.

    Otherwise I don’t have more than half an hour to spent to watch shaky drive by footage with scrambled sound.

    If you have nothing better to do or can’t think of any than wasting half an hour, THAT more prudently should be a cause for concern …..

    So f@*k off cracking wise! You fail miserably.

  8. Dissenting Voice Says:

    I believe my statement stands on its own, whether in relation to this video or not.

    The most significant part starts right around 12:00 in my opinion. I’m somewhat sympathetic to your concern; it could have been better edited.

    I was able to watch it while eating a meal.

    Don’t be so thin-skinned. 😉

  9. Danny Boy Says:

    Dissenting Voice:

    If this: “I believe my statement stands on its own, whether in relation to this video or not.”

    refers to this: “When your attention span is no longer than the average commercial break or YouTube video, that may be a cause for concern.”

    and you are refering to the uncomfortable inability, of those posters above, to watch Tory’s latest, then you are being suggestively rude, if not snobbishly arrogant.

    “Don’t be so thin skinned” you say after the event. Perhaps it’d be better if you were not taken seriously, and ignored.

  10. Tsalagi Says:

    Those that posted with referances to the quality of the vid and it being a “waste of time” or “I love Tori but couldn’t keep watching past the first ten” I say: you don’t Love Tori nor do you understand what she went through during her experience with Scientology. I say also that you don’t understand the pain, humility and loss of identity as well as suffering that families are going through at this time. You, with your quick fixes and smart mouths and irreverant souls: you can stop pretending to care and find something else to pretend to care for and your time on. I think this was a great thing for Tori to do. It not only helped her emotionally and spiritually but it may help others that have spent that much time believing in a false religion only to be enslaved for the profit of those that even today seem to beyond prosecution. Do you care about that? If you have more than ten minutes in your life you may find someone’s heart in the experience beyond the camera. The mask is your anonymity not your soul.

    Your friend
    AnonTsalagi

  11. General Public AYS Says:

    Rubbish Tsalagi. People with any brains know we have a long hard slog ahead of us, so you can ditch the sentimental crap.

    Stamina and patience is what we need in the fight against the cult. But if you trust Tory you don’t have to watch her films if you don’t want to. She won’t mind me telling her I got a headache watching this film, though the basic idea of it was good.

    Nobody was criticising Tory’s integrity, and she doesn’t need you to defend her….don’t forget to spell her name right next time.

  12. Rabidtreeweasel Says:

    Tsalgi, I have watched hours of footage, including footage of Tori, have stood out in the rain in front of Scientology, and yes, spent ten minutes on this video. The fact that i think she’s done better videos in the past says little about me, but you seem to have inferred quite a bit. You’d make an excellent auditor.

  13. Benjamin Cisco Says:

    ^^^
    Who cares who watches what? Why comment on other reviewers comments? Watch what you want or not. There is so much critical information out there against this evil Cult of $cientology — we all can’t watch and love everything.

    In the meantime, I have to say that I cried along with Tory. To hear someone realize the loss of friends and a youthful dream is very sad. I was right there with you Tory feeling your pain….then got right back up and to it. Just like I know you did because you have a great sense of humor and are one kick-ass broad. Cheers!

  14. Dissenting Voice Says:

    Oh, Danny Boy,

    “…you are being suggestively rude, if not snobbishly arrogant.

    ‘Don’t be so thin skinned’ you say after the event. Perhaps it’d be better if you were not taken seriously, and ignored.”

    I don’t have much interest in a flame war, but aren’t you being suggestively rude, here? Are you not snobbish? Arrogant? Particularly when suggesting that I not be taken seriously, and that I be ignored.

    Huh. That seems familiar, somehow. Ignore your opponents? Never defend, always attack? Where have I heard that? It’ll come to me.

    Anyway, when I said, “don’t be so thin-skinned,” with a wink, I was trying to keep it light, after I’d been told that I was imprudent, wasting my time, oh, and, “So f@*k off cracking wise! You fail miserably.”

    Let me tell you something. You want to talk about being taken seriously?

    When people like Anonymous start acting like animals and gibbering obscenities and slinging personal attacks, that’s when outsiders fail to take them seriously. Find somebody who you consider wise, and who you think knows little about this ‘war’. See what they think of Scientology, and what they think of Anonymous. When people can’t watch a movie for longer than two minutes, are they helping or hurting the group? How about themselves?

    I don’t post on Tom’s blog for two reasons: First, I don’t trust him, but second, there’s nothing even resembling a dialogue going on there it’s 95% braying animals, something to this effect:

    “Blogpost: Anonymous are child-molesting nazi criminals”

    “UH! Tom! You FAIL so MISERABLY!!!”

    “If I fail, then why are you such a child-molesting nazi criminal?”

    “Let’s kill Tom!”

    “Tom, ^ That was you. Stop posting to your own blog”

    “Uh! Samefag!”

    “Fail!”

    “Why are you such a failure Tom?”

    “Why are you such a criminal?”

    And on, and on, and on, endlessly.

    I’d be careful, if I were you, first about deciding that a flame war is the best use of your time and of this space, and second about deciding to listen to these people over here and not those people over there. When you start advocating stopping up your ears, it’s a pretty short drop to mindless groupthink.

    Lastly, I’ll say this, Yes. It’s deplorable that some people think that poor sound and camerawork are grounds for dismissal of what might be an important and moving video. I chose to gently chide them about their poor attitudes rather than simply pontificate, but either way, it doesn’t change the fact that their attitudes are poor. If they judge videos by how slickly produced they are with nicely executed editing and sound, then they should visit a local org. I’m sure they’d find exactly what they’re looking for.

    It’s unsettling when people can’t (or won’t) look past the presentation.

  15. General Public AYS Says:

    You ARE pontificating D Voice:

    “When people like Anonymous start acting like animals and gibbering obscenities and slinging personal attacks, that’s when outsiders fail to take them seriously.”

    “It’s deplorable that some people think that poor sound and camerawork are grounds for dismissal of what might be an important and moving video.”

    You must keep ONE thing in mind: we are not here to be purely entertained – we are here to STUDY and then PASS ON INFORMATION to the uninformed and ignorant. From a purely practical view Tory’s latest film cannot be used.

    You are being upset for a very peculiar reason.

  16. Mark Bunker Says:

    Guys, you are allowed to not like a video I post here, find one difficult to watch or even just think I’m tubby.

    No need to personally attack each other because you have different opinions on camerawork.

  17. Dissenting Voice Says:

    G.P. AYS & WBM:

    Your points are well taken. I apologize if I caused more harm than good.

  18. Xenu Says:

    Thanks for the tour! Even with cracky sound, at times.

    Would it be possible, too get some footage on the ‘past now’ angle? I mean, sea org people dressed up like spaceman, streets filled with them. And now the streets are almost empty?

    Sure hope Tory was handed a tissue for her tears (of joy)

  19. Tsalagi Says:

    My appologies for the misspelling of Tory’s name. My thoughts may have been better taken if I would have said that we should not disregard the message due to the way it is being delivered. For instance. If I am hearing a story being told by someone that I find less than entertaining and I just walk away or ignore them, then I may miss a very valuable message. The inability to experience others past my own discomfort limits my growth as a human being. That is the way I live and I offer my appologies to those that I thought should behave the same way. It was a knee jerk reaction to my sentimentalism. My sentimentalism I will not appologize for. Rabid: I hope never to be an auditor.

  20. Rabidtreeweasel Says:

    Tsalagi: well said🙂


Leave a Reply

