Fan Mail from Canada, Eh

Take off you hosers.  I got a lovely e-mail from the Great White North I wanted to share with you:

About 10 years ago (give or take) A&E aired a show about Scientology and invited people to an online chat room to discuss the episode.

At first it was tough to pick out the Scientologists, but that didn’t last.

Before long they were accusing everyone even remotely associated with the show of being drunks, wife beaters etc.

That was when first got my attention and I’ve been researching them in a small way for years.

Fast forward to the beginning of August.

There is a three-day open-air country music concert held just outside Camrose, Alberta, during the August long weekend called Big Valley Jamboree.

It’s about 2 hours from _________ and we travel there every year.

I’ve been going six years now always have a great time (you haven’t really partied until it’s been with hillbillies) … with one hiccup.

Never in a thousand years would I expect to see my 14-year-old nephew getting a “stress test” at BVJ .
I nearly swallowed my tongue.

He and the rest of my family have been hearing me talk about this cult for years and yet … there he sat, listening the nice Scientologist tell him that “it seems his family stresses him out.”

The only thing that stopped a very ugly scene was the realization gained after reading your material … these people are victims too.

After a few minutes I went over to talk to the fellows. They wanted to show me their products and asked if I was feeling any stress in my life.

I said I would rather talk about Scientology. He was a little surprised.

I was very nice … he was very nice, but started to use that weird double-speak that we see over and over again on these videos. He said he hadn’t heard about “Fair Game” (I realize the name has changed) and that all the stuff on the Internet was a “web” of lies. He then began answering direct questions with questions of his own.

I told the fella that he seemed like an intelligent, kind man and that he should maybe look into some of the information that was being put forward. That’s all.

I can only hope more people did the same.

As my dad used to say …. “If one person calls you as asshole, ignore it. If two people call you an asshole … that’s their opinion, but if three people call you an asshole, you better start looking in the mirror … ‘cuz you might be an asshole.” (I don’t think these people are necessarily assholes … but you get the idea … the more people that talk to them in a rational, caring manner the more hope that they start doubting their beliefs.)

As soon as I left the booth I told everyone I ran into at the concert about the “stress test” and Scientology. (There are 25,000 people there per day for three days. I wonder if they thought rednecks were easy pickings.)

The conversation was enough to completely convince me that 1) they are victims 2) I will be showing up at the next protest and 3) I am going to write a letter to the people who organize BJV and the major sponsors.

Just wanted to let you know that you are fighting the good fight and between xenutv and anonymous, the word is really getting out there.

Thanks for the great report.  It’s good to see the word spreading.

Let’s make sure Bob and Doug MacKenzie don’t get recruited at one of these events.

Explore posts in the same categories: Front Groups, New Voices

7 Comments on “Fan Mail from Canada, Eh”

  1. Dennis Fletcher Says:

    On the best selling Bob and Doug album, Bob introduces himself as L.Ron Mackenzie. No kiddin” eh? It’s a small world. Not all yer Hollywood types are suckers.

  2. ohbuddy Says:

    that was such a nice letter !!!!

  3. Leannekera Says:

    These issues need to be addressed. They target children for gods sake😦

    I believe it will make a difference if we all politely sit down and do the same. I totally agree with what this person is saying.

    Slightly off topic, I live in the UK and my fiance is a very respected solicitor for criminal defense.

    (Solicitor not Lawyer may I point out)
    Now the difference between solicitors and Lawyers is that in the UK anybody that works in law has the right to title themselves as a Lawyer. This could be anybody in a law department, even the secretary. Whereas a Solicitor is someone who takes the Legal Practice Course, spends over 5 years studying Law and has a pin number in order to represent clients for the cause of justice and advise on the truth.

    This is little known in the UK as is shown by the countless adverts on TV for “no win no fee” claims lawyers. Your not dealing with solicitors here guys, people are taking your cash for work you can do alone – wake up.

    Anyway…

    Recently my fiance was in the crown court and found a stack on Narconon flyers, advertising a free and helpful way to get people such as my fiances clients free from drugs. Seems innocent enough to the unknown, but as soon as my fiance pointed out that they where part of scientology every court to date has thrown them right in the bin.

    My fiance has been doing this for many months now, and I feel it helps. Last month while picking up a bunch of fliers and explaining to the court rep that they where not a legit group and infact part of scientology… a man stormed over from over hearing and explained that his clients found Narconon to be very successful and he swore by them.

    My fiance explained what Narconon actually was and how dangerous this was for his clients …he then very soon began to realize this man was part of it also.

    Classing himself as a LAWYER, this man started double questioning my fiance in a very abrupt mannor (as we know).

    After a while of publicly arguing my fiance asked why he was here. Again he stated he was a Lawyer. When asked if he was a solicitor the man called the police.

    Long story cut short the man was from Narconon. Had 100’s of fliers in his briefcase and we believe was waiting to see who was removing the fliers from court. Thankfully the police did not take kindly to this and took them all.

    This just goes to show that they target the young and in need. Its wrong, people need to be warned.

  4. Leannekera Says:

    Sorry for the long post chaps

  5. XENU TV Says:

    I loved reading the story. Thanks.

  6. ohbuddy Says:

    ditto leannekera very interesting come back with more if there every is any🙂

  7. sk8mike Says:

    I believe that Scientologists now just refer to fair game as shattering suppression.


Leave a Reply

