The Internet is Scientology’s Worst Nightmare

When I started supplying videos for other people’s websites back in 1997, video on the web was in its infancy.   I watched the “60 Minutes” piece on the takeover of CAN and thought to myself, “maybe there are people who have missed this who would like to see it.  People in other places where the show doesn’t even air.” 

I had a video capture card (pretty rare at the time) so I contacted a critic in Europe who had a website and asked if they’d like to host the video on their site.   Absolutely, they would.  So I converted the video and sent it across the net and asked them not to reveal my name.  I kept that up for many months.

Sure, the quality sucked.  The leading product was RealPlayer which performed the miracle of instantly delivering sounds and picture to anyone on the globe even if the sound was tinny and the picture was tiny and blocky.   But it worked.

Along came Windows Media Player from Microsoft.   The quality seemed virtually identical to me and since Microsoft had their well deserved reputation of introducing a product to destroy the small company actually doing the innovation, I saw no need to switch to them. 

Quicktime, of course, was head and shoulders above both of them for quality but the videos didn’t start automatically and the file size for good quality video was considerably larger than the other formats and unworkable.  A two minute trailer in quicktime was 27 megs.  For one of my 20 – 60 minute videos it would have been impractical.

So, that’s why many of my older clips on XENU TV are still in RealVideo format.  I have been converting them as time goes by.  Some to Windows Media format but most are being moved over to GoogleVideo which now allows anyone to store and stream files no matter how long the clip or how huge the file. 

If only YouTube relaxed their 100 meg file size, I would embrace them as well.   I’m hoping, now that Google owns YouTube, they will relax their policies and allow the longer clips I produce.

XENU TV came along in 1999 and allowed people to see and hear many of the participants on the newsgroup alt.religion.scientology.  That was my target audience when I started shooting and editing videos.  I figured a couple hundred people would see them.   These people would get to see their fellow critics and get a kick out of the experience.

The site grew and grew.  I joined Bob Minton in Clearwater, Florida to be part of the LMT and the videos got better.  I had a chance to sit down and interview subjects and devote my time to the subject of Scientology.  That is when I wasn’t answering demands for videos to be produced for court, fixing broken computers, working on the website and whatever else needed being done at the Trust at the moment.

We shot so much footage that I never had a chance to edit most of the material.   I have a vast trove of material never before seen.  Interviews with Gabe Cazares, Ray Emmons, L. Ron Hubbard’s great-grandson Jamie Kennedy.  It will all come out.  “The Lost Treasures of XENU TV” will be released.  I only wish I had the time to get to it all. 

One of the wonderful parts of the video revolution is that I am no longer alone on the net.  Everyone is now posting videos and many others have taken their cameras and pointed them at Scientology.  YouTube is full of independent filmmakers tackling the subject of Scientology…and Scientology can’t stop it.

They used to have to frighten one journalist into silence.  Now the world has caught on to them and the old scare tactics of that tubby, lunatic charlatan Hubbard won’t work anymore.  

They couldn’t silence South Park.  That emboldened the press to come out of their shells and start investigating the group again.  

And individuals are seeking out info and discovering what Scientology doesn’t want you to know. 

Hey, You were blown up in a volcano.  You’re covered with BTs.  You mock up your own reactive mind.   XENU!

All of this is a long winded way to say that I was happy when an critic from England sent me a video shot just a few days ago at the London Org.   They wished to remain anonymous.

“Would I like to put it on my site?” they asked. 

Absolutely, I would.  

So we come full circle.   Thanks to everyone who has helped XENU TV prosper through the years.  It has grown from a few hundred people to over a million visitors a months.

And we’ve barely begun.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

19 Comments on “The Internet is Scientology’s Worst Nightmare”

  1. Linda Says:

    The stress test is the bait. The sale of a copy of the book dianetics the modern science of mental health and the collection of a name and address is the switch. It would have been interesting to see how many of the stress tests shown resulted in book sales.

  2. Butterflygrrrl Says:

    Mark– You rock! I really admire all the work you do to expose the truth about scientology.

  3. Hamburger Helper Says:

    Thanks for hosting this . . . very telling stuff! Keep up the good work.


  4. Well, Scientology, a war system against anything and anybody not in full agreement and admiration of its leader the david miscavige (CEO RTS), deserves the counter picketers when it dares to open another of its expansive profit centers, hoping to get new rich clients…
    Scientology, the most ever materialsitic cult.
    r

  5. Ex-Member Says:

    Mark,

    Many thanks for all the work you have done. I was in for over 20 years. The videos confirmed the lies and deceptions I had seen in the church at all levels, particularly in the Sea Org. Our whole family is OUT now. Keep it up!


  6. Thank you for the work you have done. I am looking forward to seeing the films fromthe LMT days. I am one of the new “South Park” critics. I knew of scientiology and that it was a bunch of Horsh%$ but after the episode I started researching on the net and was blown away. Thanks to people like you and arnie Lerma and Andreas the rules have changed. The Co$ can no longer force people in to silence and THAT is a beautiful thing. Keep up the good work.

  7. London Critic Says:

    I’d just like to point out (as one of the critics featured in this film) that we were not told by the individual who filmed that she was intending to release this film on the internet, nor were we shown it before she released it to you.

    We had a team of researchers from BBC’s “Panorama” filming us, but that film is not intended for broadcast; “Panorama” have requested permission to film us for a demo planned next year, and wanted some private footage to get some idea of what typically happens during one of our demos. For the “official” filming, we will be required to sign consent forms.

    We have no problems with someone filming if they ask consent and clear it with us first. But this was not done with our knowledge and consent.

    I should also point out that the person who sent you this film is not one of the regular UK critics, being a visiting critic from Germany.

  8. Brian James/Jackson Says:

    Thank you, Mark, for your courageous and generous efforts at educating the masses about the abusive and deceptive practices of this most evil organization. I will be sending you an email to once again volunteer my efforts (as I did for LMT).

    Brian Jackson/James


  9. I have to say, XENUTV is one of my favorite websites. I absolutely LOVE how you nail the $cientologists on their BS, Mark. Keep up the good work, you’re a hero among men.

  10. XENU TV Says:

    To London Critic, the news you share is indeed interesting. What would you suggest be done? There is nothing being done or said in the video that defames anyone. I see no reason to remove the video.

    As for release forms, I work in TV news and everyday we shoot video and air interviews with no need for releases. A public event such as a picket is a news event. Filming and broadcasting a news event is legal.

  11. Ingrid (Wogette) Says:

    I can’t wait to see some of the unpublished stuff from the LMT days!

  12. nexibello Says:

    To read about Scientology, comments by Scientologists and to read comments, testimonies etc. by ex-Scientologists and other critics is one thing. But Xenu-TV and other sources give you the possibility to, in addition, *watch* Scientologists, critics etc. on video and to listen to them in radio shows – with your own very eyes and ears. This makes a BIG difference and is very effective.

    I am very grateful to all the protagonists who spend their time and money and make those videos and radio shows available to the internet.

    Greetings from Switzerland
    {}{}{}]:)
    nexibello

  13. Pj Germain Says:

    Kudos to revealing the truth!

  14. Florian Says:

    Hi,
    I found your blog via google by accident and have to admit that youve a really interesting blog🙂
    Just saved your feed in my reader, have a nice day🙂

  15. XENU TV Says:

    Thanks, everyone, and welcome aboard Florian. Check out http://www.xenutv.com for much more video.

  16. Ingrid Says:

    This thread gets mentioned in the Scientologist film response to Panorama’s “Scientology and Me” programme:

    http://www.bbcpanorama-exposed.org/watch-the-video-documentary.php

    Mention is about 7/8 of the way through.

  17. SamaraRegion Says:

    []its the best post from you, thanks a lot[]


  18. […] Jens from the OG will be joining us with his homebrew PA in a wheelie cupboard. (Demonstration link here.) It’s not going to be anything as epic as some of the systems our US Anons come up with, but I’m […]


Leave a Reply

