A New Word in Literacy – Fraud

The Boston Globe has an article about the Scientology literacy program in their city. They set up space near the Boston Org in a building they share with Scientology’s front group for attacking psychiatry, the Citizen’s Commission on Human Rights.

“My goal is to infuse the community with tools they can use,” said Robert Castagna , a Scientology minister who heads up the literacy program. “I’m not here to save your soul, but if you can’t read, you have a major handicap spiritually.”

Scientology, founded in the 1950s by science-fiction writer L. Ron Hubbard, is a religion that has often drawn the suspicion of the American public. Billing itself as an “applied religious philosophy” that believes humans live many lives and can achieve higher states of awareness, the church teaches that psychiatry is a hoax. It also has been criticized as a cult that extracts money from its followers.

A number of parents who use the literacy services say they enjoy the tutoring as long as proselytizing is left out.

“I’m not really into the ministry because I’m a Christian, but they’re good as far as helping your child,” said Tycia Feagin , 28, of Roxbury, whose 6 -year-old son attends the program. “They helped me to help him. I like what they’re doing.” The program runs from 2 to 6 p.m. Tuesdays and Wednesdays. Yet, Feagin, like many who work and live nearby, remains cautious about getting too close to the group’s teachings.

“It seems the way they go about it, you trick your mind,” she said. “It’s interesting, but I’ve tried many religions and I feel God is my way.”

I would support Scientology’s literacy programs if they produced people educated enough to see through L. Ron Hubbard’s bullshit. Unfortunately, this program is used primarily to Safe Point Scientology in a community. It’s goal is less to educate and more to show the public that Scientology is not a dangerous cult but a benevolent group looking out for the best interests of humanity.

My friend, Tory Christman, spoke out about safe pointing in a separate article in the San Francisco Chronicle about Narconon sneaking into public schools:

Christman and other ex-Scientologists familiar with Narconon said that Narconon also serves to present Hubbard and his vision in a positive light.

“At Narconon (they’re) handling drugs in society. But in truth, it’s to ‘safe point the environment’ — a goodwill gesture so they can recruit people,” Christman said.

As is always the case, others have produced valuable resources on a topic that go way beyond what I could possibly write up, so I would suggest checking out these terrific sites for more info on Scientology and education.

Scientology vs. Education

First Hand Testimony

Professor Dave Touretzky created the Scientology vs. Education site. There are few people who are better able to explain Scientology than Dave.

I took a stab at informing the Clearwater City Commission on how Scientology uses deception to safe point their church through the education system. I had three minutes to state my case.

I don’t think they cared one bit that they were used but I wanted to get it on the record.

Explore posts in the same categories: Front Groups

6 Comments on “A New Word in Literacy – Fraud”

  1. sam Says:

    Hey Mark,

    I think this blog is a great addition to Xenu TV. I just wanted to ask about CCHR. You described them as “Scientology’s front group for attacking Scientology.” I knew they were a COS front, but I thought they were set up to shill negative propaganda about psychiatry and the FDA. Is it also another trap for anti-scientologists, like the Cult Awareness Network became after the ‘church’ took it over?

  2. xenutv Says:

    Sorry about that. It’s a typo as I crammed this post in with everything else I’m doing today. I’ll fix that right now. Thanks for pointing that out.

  3. Bob Says:

    Heh, the guy after Mark is the same guy that’s being religiously “prosecuted”, he’s not exactly the sharpest tool in the shed.

  4. woggins Says:

    Mark,

    This is a great video of your presentation in Clearwater… I had never seen it before and I guess it was near the demise of LMT.😦

    You were excellent in your presentation.

    Keep up your good work.

    Regards,
    woggins

  5. John Smith Says:

    Interesting that Mr. Westenberger seems to feel that planting trees, cleaning the streets and maintaining their properties outweighs the harm that the cult’s insidious policies and practices have caused to members, non-members and the community at large for over 30 years in Clearwater, 56 years in total. Unwittingly, he illustrates the exact point you were making about safepoint programs.

  6. David Says:

    Just working my way through your old posts.

    I notice that as when Mr. Westenberger appeared after your speech suggesting a statue for Gabe Cazares he also fails to mention that he is a Scientologist (which a quick Google search reveals). He just works with Scientologists who have done nothing but good for the community. The only thing that would have made it more obvious is if he had started with the standard “I’m not a Scientologist, but.”


Leave a Reply

